How to win friends and influence people

How to win friends and influence people image

This book is such a wonderful piece and I wanted us to explore it firstly in observation of what it helped me see myself and also how this could be used to better an environment or a person. I see this book giving us a lot to use as a foundation, to create a better communicator out of the reader, in understanding a bit about the people involved in an exchange.

The fundamentals of handling people:

  • Do not criticize, condemn or complain.

  • Give honest sincere appreciation.

  • Arouse in the other person an eager want.

Six Ways To Make People Like You:

  • Be genuinely interested in other people.

  • Smile.

  • Remember people's names.

  • Be a good listener that encourages others to speak about themselves.

  • Talk about the other person's interests.

  • Make the other person feel important.

Winning Others To Your State Of Mind:

  • Avoid arguments with others.

  • Show respect for other's opinions and never say "you're wrong".

  • If you are wrong admit it quickly.

  • Sometimes begin in a friendly way.

  • Get the other person to say 'yes'.

  • Let the other person do a great deal of talking.

  • Let the other person feel that the idea is theirs.

  • Try to see things from the other person's perspective.

  • Be sympathetic to the other person's desires and intentions.

  • Appeal to others' nobler motives.

  • Dramatize your ideas.

  • Throw down a challenge.

Becoming a leader:

  • If you must criticize, start with a compliment.

  • Call attention to people's mistakes indirectly.

  • Discuss your own mistakes before disclosing the other person's mistake.

  • Ask questions instead of giving others orders.

  • Save the other person's dignity.

  • Praise even the smallest improvements

  • Give the person a fine reputation to live up to.

  • Encourage people when it's time for change and make it look easy.

  • Make another person happy to perform what you are suggesting.

Observation

emmanuel-akinte-Yx4v3sWfeAo-unsplash.jpg

With this book, I came to understand that Dale wanted to expose three basic parts of human communication and it's why we actually communicate, that being our desire to be liked and to be seen as being unique, being part of each other's lives and growing to be better at what you do or who you are.

The first three fundamentals showed me the basics of how I should interact with others and showed me that in a way criticism comes from my selfishness. I realized that I criticize a lot when i am not pleased with someone else or their actions, and I decided to stop expecting things from others and accept them as is. Overlooking my own expectations allows me to see people for who / what they are and appreciate them for that and not impose things on them, and I can personally see a balance in my life for this.

william-navarro-ki63IarX_v0-unsplash.jpg

The six ways to make people like you actually explain natural things that charismatic people do, and in a way doing these steps will create charisma in your life and make you a more lovable and open person where ever you are. For me trying these out didn't need to be new because I try to keep only people I value around me and people who always keep me excited about my life, smiling to see them, and people with amazing stories to listen to. I see that my choice in people i spend time with does influence me to be likable and its mostly because I like and appreciate them...'if any of you goofs is reading this - Thank You'

I went more focused when I touched Winning Others To Your State Of Mind because I want to be heard, I love it when people understand me. I have a feeling we all do, working with these as the basis of sharing your state of mind has helped me become a more conversational person, easier to work with and even speak with, and as I am still growing inters of communication I can see how my disconnect from my community has come from my failure to use these. For the longest time, my desire was to make others hear & understand me, but i think that would be the result had I invited them to my way of thinking and these actually help you make that happen.

aaron-blanco-tejedor-yH18lOSaZVQ-unsplash.jpg Another lovely thing about the piece is that it caters to every human's basic need to grow, and which better way to do it than looking at methods to Become a leader. Reading these also helped you understand how easy it is to manipulate and guide you into doing something you didn't initially intend to do, and that's something you need to reflect on personally.